FMF – Silence

Hello.  It’s time for another edition of Five Minute Friday.  That weekly occurrence where we all join up over here and get a one word prompt.  Then we write on that prompt for 5 minutes, no editing.

And then you get to back and read everyone else’s writings.  It’s really interesting to see how some writing is similar and how some is different.  Regardless, it is one of the best things I’ve ever taken part in.

Today’s word is Silence.  And GO:

It’s early morning.  The dogs woke me up.  It’s so quiet this early.  It’s alright because I was getting up anyway.

I’m tired.  I’m sore.  The kids have gone to school and to work and I’m sitting here reveling in the silence of it all.  It’s not that they are loud.  It’s that I can hear myself now.

It’s in the silence that things are brought to the forefront of my mind.  Like how I haven’t made time for God this year.  How I have been so busy that I haven’t taken time.

Like how my word of the year is supposed to be prayer, and I feel as though I have failed miserably on that front.

Maybe I should take that time, instead of looking at Facebook and playing quirky dragon games on my phone, I should use the silence in a different way.  Maybe I should take advantage and pray.  And read and study.  I seem to concentrate so much better in the silence.

God is everything to me.  He has given me everything in my life and taught me many lessons along the way.  And all he asks is for me to give him the glory.  I will use my silent moments to learn to spend time with him again.  STOP

11 The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”

Then a great and powerful wind tore the mountains apart and shattered the rocks before the Lord, but the Lord was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the Lord was not in the earthquake. 12 After the earthquake came a fire, but the Lord was not in the fire. And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.

1 Kings 19:11-13a

Until next time, may you find focus in the silence.
Hugs,
Melinda

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash
5 thoughts on “FMF – Silence

  1. Thanks, Melinda, for your honest sharing of your thoughts on silence.
    May the Lord bless you in these last days of the year as you ponder your word prayer – to know Him in deeper more intimate ways and even some different views of prayer and silence and time alone with Him.
    Visiting from #19 on the #fmf linkup

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

