Frustration

I need to relate two stories tonight that show just how frustrated I am, and how crazy the world feels right now.

When we left for Louisiana, Dale wanted to leave at the break of dawn like normal.  So we got up and got going and decided to get breakfast on the road.  Boo does not like McDonald’s for breakfast, so we stopped at our local popular gas station/convenience store to get her a donut.  When we went up to the register, there was a man that looked like he could have been trying to decide to get in line.  I grabbed Boo’s arm and took a step back to let him in front of us, because I was raised in the south and that’s what good manners looks like.  But do you know what he said?  “You don’t have to be afraid of me.  I don’t bite.”  Do I need to mention that this man was black?

The second incident happened tonight.  Just a minute ago.  If you’ve read any of my blog for any length of time, you might or might not know that I love riding my bike.  That I know a thing or two about bike riding.  That I know the local laws involving riding bikes.

So when you cross the street illegally, on a bike, and you’re over the age of 30, I’m going to call you on it.  Especially when I am the one who could have hit you because you don’t know the laws.  And then I’m going to try to talk to you rationally about it.  So please don’t continue riding off.  Stop and listen to what I have to say.  I don’t care that you are a black man on a bike, and I’m a white woman in a car.  I’m trying to help!

For those who don’t know, a bicycle counts as a moving vehicle, and is supposed to follow all the rules of the road.  Running a red light is illegal, which is what he did as I was trying to turn right on my green light.

I’m sorry.  I’m done ranting for the moment.  Maybe everyone needs to stop jumping to conclusions all the time and actually have a conversation with your fellow human beings, instead of just assuming all the time.  My heart is sad and frustrated that I can’t seem to get basic communication across.

Okay.  I have to go.  Thanks for reading this far.
Hugs,
Melinda

 

2 thoughts on “Frustration

  1. There could be many reasons for this, not just because the two men were black. The man in the store could have been thinking you were an over reactive parent afraid of “stranger danger.” I could see Shane doing the same thing in a similar situation. The guy on the bike? In this day and age, I would have probably ridden off. This man didn’t know you, he had no way of knowing that you weren’t a threat. There is enough craziness in the world he could have thought he was in danger. Please, friend, there is enough racial tension without seeking it when it may or may not be there.

    Like

    • But that’s sort of what I’m saying. I don’t want to think in terms of race and it feels like I’m being forced to. Also, I had my 12 year old in the car. How much threat do I really pose? I’m not seeking it out. It’s there already.

      Like

Leave a Reply

