The search continues.

There’s a hard truth I’m having to face right now in this job search. It’s hard to get the right job if you don’t have experience. But it’s hard to get experience without a job.

I’m at a job fair right now. It’s a job fair for sales reps. But actually, I think it would be more accurate to say, it’s almost like speed dating type interviews to see if you’re a good candidate for a real interview.  I don’t believe I’ve ever told anyone before that I am not the right person for their job.

That’s actually the crux of the whole matter. I don’t want a job. I want a career. I want something I can do for the rest of my life and enjoy doing that work.  I want to love where I work and love what I’m working on.

But I don’t know what that is.  Is it, go back to school to become a teacher, try to find something in theater, go back to school for something science related, or go into one part of the IT world?  I don’t know.  But that’s my issue.  I don’t know what I want, so I can’t find the job to go with it.

Here’s to finding the perfect career, whatever that may be!

Hugs,
Melinda

Leave a Reply

