FMF – Comfort

This post is part of the Five Minute Friday linkup.  Find all the details here.

My heart hurts.  I’ve been told I’m not good enough.  I’m struggling with the whos and whys and whats and all that.  I’m looking for comfort and answers and I don’t have them.

Comfort is an interesting thing.  Some people look for comfort in people.  Some look for it in things.  Chocolate anyone?  I’m working on not eating my feelings anymore, but I will admit that I have had more than my fair share of caramel M&Ms this week.  Some people look for comfort in medicines and alcohol.  I’m grateful that I don’t have that addiction, but it could be very easy to step into.

But what I’m realizing is that I need to find comfort in God, the only true comfort I have.  He knows the reasons.  He knows the whys.  He holds us in His hand.  He is all I need.  Even if I want more, He is what I need.  So I’m working on having that faith and trusting and believing that it will all work out for His glory.

You who are my Comforter in sorrow,
    my heart is faint within me.  Jeremiah 8:18 (NIV)

Blessed are those who mourn,
    for they will be comforted.  Matthew 5:4 (NIV)

Hugs,
Melinda

P.S.  I’m grateful for hugs and shoulders and friends and late night walks around the world.

11 thoughts on “FMF – Comfort

  1. You’re better than good enough, Melinda, because you belong to Him.

    In a weird way I find a sort of comfort in pain; when it’s dulled by medication I lose my edge, and fighting back gets harder. Those sleepless nights when I feel like I’ve been nailed to the bed through my gut…in a way they are a good kind of awful, because my enemy’s in the open.

    Don’t want to die in my sleep. I want to see it coming.

    Like

  2. Physical comfort can be fleeting and cheap, and I know the feeling of trying to seek it in tangible things… it really never does truly satisfy. True comfort does seem to lie beyond the path of discomfort – of facing uncomfortable truths and being willing to rise up again after the fall. You really capture that in your post 🙂

    Like

  3. Ah, friend. I wish I could hug you right now. Life just doesn’t make sense sometimes and it’s often downright painful. May you sense Jesus holding you close today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

