FMF – Play

This post is part of the Five Minute Friday linkup, where I join with other writers from all over to write on a one word prompt for … get this … 5 minutes.  😀  Today’s word is Play.

GO

Play.  It’s something we do as small children, and we never really outgrow it, although the nature of our play changes.  When we are children, our play can involve dolls or blocks, trains or books, cops and robbers, tag, ball, and anything our imagination comes up with.  As we get older, it changes.

I’m watching my youngest play on Minecraft right now.  It’s a game I don’t understand, but she has spent hours upon hours playing this game and developing her worlds.  My middle child plays by reading all the time and listening to music.  My oldest plays in makeup and nail polish.

But how do we as adults play?  How do we relax and unwind and use our imaginations?  For me, writing is a form of play.  Art journaling and mixed media is another for a play, and one I greatly enjoy learning more about.

I also play with and at the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  I get to enjoy playing Princess Sophia Jagiellon of the singing princesses.

But why do we play?  What need did God give us that makes us crave this fundamental behavior?  All I can think of is that God created the whole world in 6 days, and rested on the 7th.  Since we are made in the image of God, then maybe THAT is why we play.  And if you think God doesn’t play, may I direct your attention to the platypus?

Image result for platypus

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

 By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work.   Genesis 2:2  (NIV)

So God created mankind in his own image,
    in the image of God he created them;
    male and female he created them.  Genesis 1:27  (NIV)

 

3 thoughts on “FMF – Play

Leave a Reply

