FMF – Slow

It’s that time again. Time for the weekly flash mob of writers that come together to fellowship on Twitter and to write about the same one word prompt.  And then come back together and read what everyone else wrote.

Today’s prompt is slow.  And Go.

I am not slow.  Twitter is not slow.  The twitter party at #fmfparty is NOT slow.  Have you ever tried to follow two parties at once?  It’s a whirl wind.  It’s insane.

But sometimes we need to slow down.  We need to stop from the hustle and bustle and the constant stream of information.  Do we really need to have all the opinions and all the statements and all the …. stuff in a scrolling newsfeed that never ends?

Sometimes we need to slow down to hear God’s voice.  Sometimes we need to slow down so we can be still and actually hear what he has to say.

He says, “Be still, and know that I am God”  – Psalm 46:10  (NIV)

There was a time in Elijah’s life that he was forced to stop and slow down and hear God.

Picture this.  He had just had a huge fight with 850 false prophets.  God had answered Elijah in a bold way by burning up a sacrifice, an alter with all the stones and the wood, lots and lots and LOTS of water, and then God let Elijah put all those prophets to death. (1 Kings 18:16-40  NIV)

Then he prayed to God to end the drought that had lasted for over two years.  Not once, not twice, but EIGHT times.  And then he ran.  And ran.  And ran.  He was running for his life.  He beat a chariot, but he was running.  (1 Kings 18:41-46  NIV)

But God had him slow down.

The Lord said, “Go out and stand on the mountain in the presence of the Lord, for the Lord is about to pass by.”  – 1 Kings 19:11 (NIV)

Elijah went out.  There was a wind.  There was an earthquake.   And there was a fire.  But Elijah had to calm down and really listen, because it wasn’t until there was a whisper that God passed by.

daniel-burka-98224

And after the fire came a gentle whisper. 13 When Elijah heard it, he pulled his cloak over his face and went out and stood at the mouth of the cave.  – 1 Kings 19:12-13  (NIV)

God had to have Elijah slow down before he could hear Him.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to have God come at me with a wind, an earthquake, or a fire before I slow down enough to hear Him.

I’ve been studying a lot about prayer this year.  I think if we spend time with Him in prayer on a constant basis, we will slow down, and we will hear God.

STOP.

I got distracted.  It’s kind of fun to have my girls watching a funny TV show, but my train of thought got sidetracked quite a lot tonight.  I know that this wasn’t exactly 5 minutes, but I did my best to keep it short.  Have a great night.

Hugs,
Melinda

PS. Sorry, but I have to include a picture of my favorite slow animal.

nick-abrams-197003

10 thoughts on “FMF – Slow

  1. Oh, Melinda, I LOVED your post. And I see we had some common thoughts. I love when God does that. I hadn’t thought about how God had to slow Elijah down so He could speak AND Elijah could hear Him. I’m with you, I hope I’m never running so hard God has to hard-stop me to enable me to listen to His voice, His words.

    Great truths here tonight. And that turtle picture? Perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Turtles are fun! There is a town here in ND that has turtle races every summer. And I’m one of those crazy people who tries to do two twitter parties at once. Oh and I have always enjoyed the story of Elijah! Some friends in seminary wrote a song about him. I remember vividly the chorus: what are you doing here, Elijah? I’m your neighbor at FMF this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this! The reminder of Elijah having to slow down to hear from God is a great reminder of how I need to slow myself to hear His words to me..loved the turtle..my kids love turtles..back home there always in the road and I’d always have to put them back in the grass..still like them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • One of my favorite memories is “rescuing” a great big snapping turtle from getting crushed in the road. Now I realize he was probably fine. But then, it was pretty funny to see us trying to lasso him with a dog leash because no one wanted to pick him up.

      Like

  4. Love this, Melinda. Slowing down to hear that still, small voice is hard, because even after we think we’ve stilled ourselves, our hearts are racing, and we can still feel the pulse in our ears.

    It just takes that time and patience for everything to quiet. Like a pond into which a rock has been thrown, the ripples will fade away – in time.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That story is one of my favorites. I like that it was a gentle whisper that God used. That always strikes me. I usually don’t think of God as gentle, yet that’s exactly what He is many times. Kind of like the way Jesus showed up on this earth as a gentle baby first.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

