Noticing the Details

So I have been working on developing the habit of noticing the details.  It has been an interesting exercise.  I can’t say that I’ve noticed everything, but I have noticed more than normal.

One of the most interesting things I’ve realized is that I focus on smells and sights quite a bit.  The smell of bacon, the smell of a baking cake, the smell of a storm, the smell of Christmas dinner.  The sight of wrapping paper and lights, the sight of Little Bit when she was driving, the sight of bright icing colors on a cake, the sight of the model airplane doing a barrel roll, the sight of Boo when she was reading.

But I think the most beautiful thing I saw over the holiday break was the sight of Boo dancing in the front yard.  She was dancing to the music she was listening to, dancing in the sunshine and the warmth, arms open wide, and she was carefree.

I remember being like that.  Being carefree.  Dancing with music in my heart.  Not caring who was watching.  Feeling the warmth of the sun on my skin.

I loved watching her.  She is such a beautiful … well, I want to say child, but she’s not a child anymore.  She’s a beautiful young lady.

That’s the other thing that I’ve been noticing.  She’s not a child anymore.  She and Princess are growing up.  They are young ladies with their own opinions, their own points of view, their own choices, their own favorites and tastes.

I’m noticing that I’m not quite ready.  I’m not ready to face an “empty nest.”  Even though it won’t be exactly empty because Little Bit will still be here.  But I’m not ready for it.

So how do I let my girls stretch their wings?  How do I let them fly on their own?

Fly.jpg

I’m not sure.  I know a lot of it is through faith and prayer.  I know part of it is listening to them and encouraging them.  While I want to encourage them to be individuals, I also want to encourage them to stay faithful to God and His Word.  Other than that, I’m not sure anything can prepare a mother for what is coming next.

“Woman, why do you involve me?” Jesus replied. “My hour has not yet come.”

His mother said to the servants, “Do whatever he tells you.”

John 2:4-5 (NIV)

So my request is this:  Please cover us in prayer.  Please, as we transition into this new part of our life, please pray for us.  Please pray that I can let my girls grow and be their own individual selves.  And pray that they will stay in God and continue to read God’s word.  For only when they stay with God can they truly soar!

but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

Isaiah 40:31  (NIV)

Hugs,
Melinda

 

4 thoughts on “Noticing the Details

  1. It’s so very hard to let go of them, or at least it has been for me. My 26-yr old always told me I was gonna have to cut the cord sometime or other..and that was like when she was 23. Hahaha! My poor 17-yr old son gets so frustrated with me, he just informed me last week that he was going to Bonnaroo this summer since he will be a couple of months away from turning 18. I was like, “ummm no. You can go after you turn 18.”
    I will be praying for ya, Melinda. You can cover me in prayer at the same time. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

