One Word 2017

My journey into writing about one word started in 2015 with the word Brave.  It was a pivotal year for me, with joining the Renaissance Festival and my father passing away.

Last year, I wrote about Balance.  Not only did I not find balance, I also sort of feel like I tumbled and fell down.  I’m still working on that balance.

This year, it seems as though I’ve been having trouble with communication.  In fact, I thought that’s what my word was going to be.  I need to work on communicating with Dale, with my girls, with my business.  With God.  I could see communication being my word.

But then….

My Bible class teacher started talking about prayer.  A movie I’ve wanted to see is about prayer.  The sermon was about trusting God and learning to communicate with Him. Through prayer.

It hasn’t happened often that I’m aware of, but I have learned that if God repeats something like this over and over, I need to listen.

So my word for 2017 is Prayer.

I am going to be working on finding a daily quiet time and place that I can spend time with God.  I’m going to try to listen and not just do all the talking.  I’m going to open my Bible and find all the verses that talk about prayer and read and study them.

I don’t know exactly what will happen, or if you will ever see the change within me.  But I feel better already knowing that I have obeyed God’s promptings.

Hugs,
Melinda

2 thoughts on “One Word 2017

  1. LOVE your word! Oh, where would we be without the privilege of prayer. So thankful for a God who sits with us, who waits for us, who talks to us and listens to us. I pray it’s a great year of intimacy with God for you. I don’t believe we’ve met. I followed your link from Christa’s site today. Nice to meet you. 🙂 Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

