Notice – part the third

Pardon my lack of writing, but while I have been busy trying to notice the things in my life, I’ve also been trying to live it.  We’ve been on vacation.

Tuesday was “Girl’s Day.”  I got to go shopping with my sister in law, my niece, and Boo and Little Bit.  I noticed the smell of the old books in the book thrift store.  (I have news.  It mostly smells like dust and mold.)  I noticed the condensation dripping off my cup at lunch.  I felt the humidity of the air and the oncoming storm almost like a black cloud had settled over my spirit.

Wednesday was much better.  The black cloud had disappeared.  But it was also a sit at the house and do nothing type of day, so I didn’t really take any notes or write anything down about it.  It was just a day.

Thursday, I tried to remember to jot things down.  Today is my mother in law’s 70th birthday, so I made her birthday cake.  Things I noticed on Thursday were the sounds of the wind chimes, the warmth of the sun, the sight of my oldest dancing almost care free in the front yard, and the smell of the cake baking.

We also taught our girls how to play “Hand and Foot” after my mother in law and her husband taught us.  The youngest so wanted to be included, so we “practiced” for a few hands.  I noticed her pride in learning the game so well.

I’m going to side track here for a moment.  Is there a proper relationship term for ….  well, for Dale, it’s his step-father.  Does that mean for me, he is a step-father in law?  Is there a better term than that?  And my stepmother has remarried.  So is he my step-father?  Or … what?

So today started early.  It actually started around 5 when Dale and I woke up and couldn’t sleep.  So at 5:30, we decided to go to IHOP for an early breakfast date.  I noticed that it was a lot cooler than yesterday, especially in the morning.

There was a group of 20 somethings that came into the restaurant after us.  Their actions said they were drunk.  I don’t know if they were or not.  They ordered food then decided they wanted to go to Waffle House.  I noticed our waitress, Lisa, and the manager were fairly upset.  I don’t really blame them.

I noticed that after eating bacon and eggs and pancakes, I got extremely tired again.  So we went home and back to bed.

I noticed that being nice to someone never hurts you, even when it is extremely difficult.

I noticed that lots of icing in bright colors is a lot of fun, and makes everyone seem to smile just a little bit more.

I noticed that walking around by myself in Target is okay, simply because I don’t feel the pressure to talk or be nice if I don’t want to.

I noticed that drivers in Louisiana aren’t any different than drivers in Missouri.  The roads are the only thing that’s changed.

I noticed that cousins under a certain age (let’s say 13-14 for now.  It may change later.) love to play outside in the sun and the fresh air and the swing sets.

I noticed the smell and taste of sausage bites cooking, and I still feel the bloated feeling from eating too much.

There is so much more I could say, but it is already late, and Dale wants to be up and out by 6 am.  It’s a long drive home, and while I can sleep some of the way, I can’t sleep all day.  I will have to drive at some point.  I don’t know when I will get around to wrapping this section up and finishing the exercises on notice.  Hopefully with in the next week or so.

But for now,
Hugs,
Melinda

(Waiting not-so-patiently, because my phone’s camera has decided to stop saving to OneDrive, so now I have to put them there myself and wait for them to show up so that I can download them to the computer so I can use them on my blog.  Technology can be really hard sometimes.  If I ever get them to go where they are supposed to go, I’ll come back and add variety to this post.  But for now, goodnight.)

2 thoughts on “Notice – part the third

  1. Melinda, I LOVE all the things you noticed! Great use of the five senses. It’s so good when we slow down enough to really feel every nuance of the moment, isn’t it? I hope your drive home was good, and that you get your phone camera woes figured out. I’m convinced technology is a double-edged sword. It’s great for convenience and a pain in the patooty when it decides not to work. 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more from you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

