FMF – Crave

It’s time once again for that weekly flash mob of writers who get together and write for five minutes on one word.  The same word.  In many different ways and perspectives.  It’s time for that wonderful writing exercise that I look forward to all week long.  Head over to Kate’s blog to get all the details.  This week’s prompt is Crave.

GO:

It’s interesting to me that this word was chosen the week after Thanksgiving when we craved all types and sorts of foods that maybe we don’t on a normal basis.  I had one child ask for green bean casserole and another ask for sweet potato casserole and another ask for strawberry salad.  We all have different cravings and ideas of what is enjoyable.

Lately though, I have found myself with a different type of craving.  I wake up around 6:30 every morning.  My two adolescent children typically wake up around 10 or 11 in the morning.  I find that I have started to crave the peace and quiet of the early morning solitude.

I have started reading my Bible in those first few moments of quiet that I have before everyone else starts stirring.  And when my youngest decides to wake up around the same time as I do (or I get the rare opportunity to sleep in), I miss that quiet and I crave it.  I yearn for it.  I love having that time to read and process what God is speaking to me in those quiet moments.

A good cup of coffee, my Bible, maybe some quiet music in the background.  My cravings have certainly changed from when I was a teenager.  But I think maybe they have improved, just a little bit.

STOP

I will admit that I am using my Bible app, YouVersion in order to read in the mornings.  They have a myriad of reading plans that you can follow.  I have 2 going right now and 6 more saved for when I am through with those.

I also use the First 5 app made by Proverbs 31 Ministries.  It’s a great tool for connecting with like minded women in the word of God first thing in the morning.  I recommend using both of these.

I am reminded of Luke 10:41-42.

41 But the Lord said to her, “My dear Martha, you are worried and upset over all these details! 42 There is only one thing worth being concerned about. Mary has discovered it, and it will not be taken away from her.”  (New Living Translation)

May you find yourself craving time at the feet of Jesus today.

Hugs,
Melinda

 

5 thoughts on “FMF – Crave

  1. I WISH I could use the First 5 app…they don’t make it for my dinosaur Blackberry, lol. I have heard it’s just fantastic! I’ve been writing Bible verses this year and have loved it along with the OBS study’s. I’m looking for something new to add next year, I’m looking at something simple called “Search the Scriptures” that was recommended by a friend. The church we’ve been visiting has several choices for different studies –haven’t tried any of them yet because it’s this season always changes the schedules, but I can’t wait!

    Like

  2. I find that carving out some time in the morning has a profound impact on the rest of my day. Not only in how the day goes, but in how I react (or don’t) to things that happen. It’s truly a healthy foundation and I’m glad you’re able to seek Him early as well!
    Patricia (FMF#37)

    Like

Leave a Reply

