FMF – Surrender

I’m joining up with a flash mob of other writers at Kate’s blog to write for 5 minutes.  No, it’s not Friday.  We had Thanksgiving and the weekend and I wanted to roll the prompt around in my brain for a bit.  What’s the prompt?  Surrender. 

GO:

It’s no secret that music is very influential to my life.  I would like to have music playing all the time if I could.  So when Kate gave us this prompt, I have turned to the soundtrack of my life to find the appropriate words.

Close your eyes and surrender to your darkest dreams!
Leave all thoughts of the world you knew before!
Close your eyes, let your spirit start to soar!
And you’ll live as you’ve never lived before.
-The Phantom from Phantom of the Opera by Andrew Lloyd Webber

All to Jesus I surrender,
All to Him I freely give;
I will ever love and trust Him,
In His presence daily live.
-Judson W. Van DeVenter (1896)

Two very different songs, two very different feelings.  In the first, the Phantom, the main character of the show is singing to a young girl, trying in essence to seduce her with music and suggesting that she surrender to the power of the music that they share.  In the second, we are freely giving everything in our lives to God our creator.

TIME

Phantom of the Opera was the musical that changed my life.  When I first heard the music, I was in love.  I ate, drank, and breathed POTO.  I wanted to be a performer on Broadway.  I was going to be the next Christine Daae.  When I realized how bad my stage fright was, I then decided that I was going to go work backstage for them.  Almost my whole college career revolved around some form of theater and music.

But I’ve been a Christ follower even longer.  I am what you call, a preacher’s kid.  And even, a preacher’s grandkid.  I have a long history of being in the church and attending every Sunday and Wednesday.  But I decided when I was 14 that I needed to give everything up, and give everything to God.  I made the decision for myself to surrender to God and to follow His will for my life.

Have I made mistakes?  Abso-freakin-loutely.  But in following God, I also know His grace and mercy.  And I wouldn’t change anything.  Surrendering my entire life to God has made me who I am.

And for that, I am grateful.
Hugs,
Melinda

3 thoughts on “FMF – Surrender

  1. Melinda,
    oooooh!!!!!!!! I too loved Phantom of the Opera. The music was so soothing and beautiful! I actually enjoyed the new version of Think of Me better than the old one. I was a music major and a theater minor. So happy to be next door to you this week.
    P.S. look up the human video of “Everything” by lifehouse to see a music/drama ministry if you’ve not seen it before. Powerful!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (Linked at #60 this week)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

