FMF – Enjoy

I won!  I can’t believe it.  I won!  I won the 30 days self-publishing course from Fistbump Media.  Kate has been so generous in her month of giveaways.  Thank you Kate!

Alright, so it’s time for Five Minute Friday, where you get a one word prompt over at Kate’s blog.  Then you write for five minutes, unedited, unhindered.  Then go back to Kate’s, post your link, and read everyone else’s work.

Today’s prompt is Enjoy.

GO:

I enjoy writing.  I enjoy crafting words on paper, both real and digital.  I enjoy making words make sense together, and watching them come alive as they dance across the page.

I enjoy reading.  The written word has held my imagination far longer than anything else that I can remember.  The Chronicles of Narnia were some of the very first stories I remember every detail about.

My first grade teacher taught us memory verses and church songs.  My fourth grade teacher gave me Little Women for a Christmas gift.  I didn’t appreciate it for the treasure it is at the time, but I do now.  My chorus teacher in high school made us do book reports for Bible class.

I’ve read Phantom of the Opera, and Les Miserables, and Dr. Zhivago.

And yet, I find myself being drawn deeper into this well of writing.  I love trying to convey my thoughts to others through written words.  Goodness knows I’m not any good at trying to vocalize it.

I enjoy writing.  Because, I am a writer.

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

 

6 thoughts on “FMF – Enjoy

  1. Haha, Melinda. I love how you developed this word. You definitely ARE a writer! (And I also love “Little Women.”) CONGRATULATIONS on winning the Fistbump Course! So excited for you. I’m also doing it with a friend of mine, although my schedule has been so hectic I haven’t had a chance to even start yet. I give you permission to nag me about it if you see my name. 🙂
    Shauna (your neighbour down the street in #10FMF this week)

    Like

  2. How fun that you read so many classics, Melinda. And not just the Bronte sisters, but the really hard stuff. 🙂 I started Les Miserables, but I a hard time getting past the beginning and all the political backstory. I read Silas Marner, The Scarlet Letter, a few Jane Austen books, The Old Man and the Sea, and probably a couple of others. You’re a reading rock star in my book. 🙂

    And yes, by the way, you most definitely ARE a writer. 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.