31 Days – Only

This post is the last post in my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Only.

GO:

I know you think that you have to do this alone.  But you don’t.  You have me.  You have our family.

See, you have a family now.  You aren’t alone.  If only you could see that we are hurting with you.  If only you could see that we love you and want to help.  If only you could see how we ache for you and with you.  If only you could see that we know it sucks.

Let me say it again.  It SUCKS that this happened to you.  Not once, but twice.  It SUCKS that your birth family who should have loved you and believed you immediately and help you deal with this didn’t believe you.  It sucks that it’s happened again.  It sucks that you don’t feel safe anymore.

If only you could see that you are bleeding.  Not physically, because that’s a whole different ballgame.  But you’ve been emotionally stabbed, and you are bleeding out.  If only you could see that putting a band aid on it won’t help.  If only you could see that you’re going to need surgery to repair this.  Or at least some heavy duty counseling.  If only you could see that you are surrounded by the arms of the Great Physician.

And if you had no one else, you have God.  God wants to take care of you, and help you walk through this.

You keep track of all my sorrows.[b]
    You have collected all my tears in your bottle.
    You have recorded each one in your book.

Psalm 56:8 (New Living Translation)

Please don’t run away.  Please let us help you.  I can’t promise that I will be perfect all the time, and I can’t promise that I won’t ever let you down.

But I can promise that we will stand beside you no matter what.  If only you could see that God has blessed us with each other.

If only you would let me help you.  If only you would let me keep you safe and try to protect you.  You think that you are the only one that you can do it, but you aren’t alone.  It’s not only you that has to deal with this.  We are with you.

But I can’t choose for you.  Only you can choose.  Only you are the one who can choose to be healed.

Daughter of my heart, I love you.  More than you realize.  My heart is aching and hurting for you.  Let’s change the “only you” to “together.”  Okay?

Hugs,
Melinda

P.S.  Read all of Psalm 56 because there is more than just the part about the tears.

One thought on “31 Days – Only

Leave a Reply

