31 Days – Cut

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Cut.

GO:

“Cut!!!  That’s a wrap.”

We’re so close to the end of Write 31 Days.  We’re so close to wrapping this up in a bow and being done.

I’m proud of myself for sticking with it.  The first year I did this, I didn’t write all 31 days.  The subject was really too difficult to write that much about without a lot more research and a lot more development.

Last year, I wrote every day, except for one.  But that was because I was waiting for someone to write a guest post for me.  I’m still waiting.

This year, I’ve written almost every day.  There have been days that I’ve written two posts at once, but I’m almost completely finished.

Back to the word at hand.  Cut.  When I first saw this word, I was thinking about a poem that I wrote several years ago.  I entered a “poetry” contest, where my poem was put into a “who’s who” of poetry.  And then it was published on a CD.  It wasn’t anything big.  I can’t even remember it, except that it was about quilting.

So, instead of writing about my poem, I’m going to write about quilting.

Quilting was a way that my mom and I connected when we lived long distance.  I followed her on a quilting message board, and made friends.  I picked up the lingo and started seeing the beauty in the art form.

Quilting is so beautiful in the way the fabric is cut and sewn together.  (See what I did there?)  😉   And the blankets are so warm and wonderful to wrap up in.  The friendships I’ve developed have been binding (another quilt term).

There is lots of cutting involved with quilting.  But there is lots of sewing and binding together.  It can bring you together with friends far and near.  Cutting fabric is fun!

Hugs,
Melinda

 

2 thoughts on “31 Days – Cut

  1. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam feedback?
    If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very
    much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

