31 Days – Date

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Date.

GO:

I have dates in my head.  My wedding date, my birthday, my children’s birthdays.  My husband’s birthday, my parents’ birthdays.  Those are the important days.

I have dates that are important because my life changed that day.  The day Dale joined the Army, the day my mom passed away, when my dad passed away.  When my story, my testimony happened.  The day I almost died.

I have days that I remember because they are important, but I don’t remember the date.  The day I met Dale.  The day Princess came to live with us.  The day I graduated college.  The day we moved to Kansas City.  The days that Dale returned from deployment.

But the date I don’t need to know is the date that Jesus will return.

Now, brothers and sisters, about times and dates we do not need to write to you, for you know very well that the day of the Lord will come like a thief in the night.

1 Thessalonians 5:1-2 (New International Version)

 He said to them: “It is not for you to know the times or dates the Father has set by his own authority. But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you;

Acts 1:7-8a (NIV)

God knows when Jesus will return.  I’m ready for Him to come back.  I’ve seen enough sadness, enough evil, that I’m ready for Him to come back.  And He will.

STOP

But until then I will live as though He will return tomorrow, and I will rest in His mercies.  And I will have faith.

I will glorify God in the good times and the bad.

Hugs,
Melinda

 

One thought on “31 Days – Date

Leave a Reply

