31 Days – Off

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Off.

GO:

We took the weekend off.  We were together, we didn’t pay much attention to social media, we were a couple again.

I’m sorry for my absence.  Maybe you didn’t notice, maybe you did.  But I was off-line.  I needed to be.

Life has been rough lately.  Fair took a lot of me.  It did last year, too, but this year, it seemed harder.  You might say, I’ve been “Off” my game.

And we, as a couple, seemed to have paid the price.  So Dale and I escaped.  We had some things that had to be taken care of Saturday morning.  I had training for working the polls in the upcoming election, he took Little Bit to robotics class.

But then we got to spend time away from home, just the two of us.  We went to an antique mall, and a … I don’t have the proper name for it, but a store that recycles electronics and office furniture, and a hole in the wall burger joint that had standing room only at 3:45 on Saturday afternoon.

Oh, yeah.  We also went to IKEA.

So, while we’ve been “off,” we’re working on it.  We’re connecting again, we’re holding hands again.

We’re talking.

And hopefully, our marriage will be all the better for it.

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

