31 Days – Move

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Move.

GO:

I remember one house that had blue carpet and a room divider between the kitchen and living room.  I remember walking my swing set from that house to the house on Charles Street.

I remember the roses on Charles Street.  I remember my fifth birthday party there, with Aunt Suzan and Uncle Gary.  I got a little red Bible and a Mickey Mouse sleeping bag.

I remember moving to Market Street.  I remember my sixth birthday there, where I got a Strawberry Shortcake canopy bed and a little sister.  I loved that house.  I loved my room.

I remember moving around the corner to the house on Cross Street.  That house was different.  But it’s the one that I lived in when I met Dale and when we got married.

Where we moved to an apartment.  And then to Missouri.  And then back to Louisiana with Nonnie and PawPaw.  And then our trailer.  And then Dale joined the army and went to basic and AIT while I moved in with my mom and dad to finish school.

And then there was the apartment in Georgia.  Then the duplex on post.  Then back to Louisiana.  Then back to Missouri to live with friends.  Then an apartment.

And then our home.  We’ve lived here longer as a family than anywhere else.  It’s not the biggest.  It’s got leaks and spiders and “issues.”

But it’s our home.

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

2 thoughts on “31 Days – Move

Comments are closed.