31 Days – Aware

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing.  Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Today’s word is Aware.

GO:

Slowly, he opened his eyes.  He blinked.  Once, twice.

He thought about each and every part of him.  Was anything broken?  Was it functioning properly?

Questions started running through his mind.  How did I get here?  Where is here?  What is my name?  Who am I?  What…

He had no idea how long he had been laying there, inanimate.  He had no idea if there was anyone else around.

Slowly, creakingly, he sat up.  Everything appeared to be in proper working condition.

The silence around him was deafening.  The questions in his mind were more than he could handle.  Where is everyone?  How long have I been asleep?  What is my purpose in life?

And as though a switch had turned on in his mind, he had all the answers.

He was aware.

“Automaton 8642, reporting for duty.  Objective: to assist the humanoids aboard this vessel.”

STOP

This is what I get for watching a steampunk show and Star Trek: Voyager before I start writing.  I don’t know if I’ll ever go further, but I hope you enjoy this little sneak peak of my brain.  lol.  Have a good day.  😀

Hugs,
Melinda

One thought on “31 Days – Aware

Comments are closed.