FMF – Test

This post is part of my series 31 Days of Simply Writing, but it is also part of Five Minute Fridays. Every day for the month of October, I will be taking a one word prompt and writing for 5 minutes, similar to what I do for Five Minute Fridays.  Five Minute Fridays is where we all go over to Kate’s blog to get the prompt, and then write for 5 minutes.  After that, we go back and link up on her page and offer comments to the people that wrote before us.  Today’s prompt is Test.

GO:

It’s a test. It has to be.  No one could be that rude, that mean, that underhanded and sneaky.  Could they?

God is testing me.  But then I have to wonder WHY is he testing me?  What does he think I’m ready for?  Why me?

What the test comes down to is simply one thing.  Do I have what it takes to believe in God, to believe in Jesus, no matter what?  No matter my children, no matter my job, no matter my hobby or my hubby?  Do I love HIM enough to always follow Him and always stand up for Him?

The test might be cancer.  It might be the crass joke told at the expense of your blushing face.  It might be lack of friends.  Lack of true friends.  The test might be the rude coworker or the overtime you said you weren’t going to take.  It might be the game that takes all your thought processes.

Maybe it’s even a blog that takes too much time.

Maybe it’s the children who demand all of your attention.

How much better would we be if we just focused on Him first and foremost?  Then we know the answer to all the questions of the test.

God.

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda


I feel the need to add some scripture here.  I very much felt the desire to add these last night, but somehow ended up going a different direction.  But this was on my mind when I started writing last night, even if I didn’t end up there.

12 So, if you think you are standing firm, be careful that you don’t fall! 13 No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

1 Corinthians 10: 12-13 (New International Version)

And also this one:

12 Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.   13 When tempted, no one should say, “God is tempting me.” For God cannot be tempted by evil, nor does he tempt anyone; 14 but each person is tempted when they are dragged away by their own evil desire and enticed.

James 1: 12-14 (New International Version)

I offer them without commentary, other than to say that they were on my mind as I was writing.

Hugs,
Melinda

11 thoughts on “FMF – Test

  1. Ah, great observations, Melinda! I fall into the get-caught-up-in-my-own-plans trap all the time and I have to consciously redirect my thoughts back to God and asking him what HIS plan is. Thank you for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. God’s certainly the only answer…but I don’t think He’s sending our trials. They seem to me to be a part of a Creation in which free will had to become operative; and even natural disasters and cancer are an extension of that free will.

    But He’s there to help us face the challenges, and sometimes the disasters, if we let Him.

    #2 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/10/your-dying-spouse-216-lethal-legacy-fmf.html

    Like

    • Whoops. I think I was headed that way but ended up a different way. You’re right, he’s there to help us face the challenges. Thanks for the reminder. Maybe I need to add on to this post.

      Hugs,
      Melinda

      Like

    • I as well. Sometimes I wonder if it would be easier to be a Christian if we were still burned at the stake. Now, we face lawsuits and business disgraces, but not physical harm. Is it easier or harder today? Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

