My word for 2016

Last year, I wrote a post about being brave and how brave was my one word for 2016.  It proved itself over and over and over to be true.  I had to be brave to audition for Ren Fest.  I had to be brave to write my story.  I had to be brave to face the future.  I had to be brave to actually participate in Ren Fest and talk to people when I can be extremely introverted at times.

So I’ve been thinking about my word for 2016.  I seem to have found a word.  It’s been suggesting itself for almost a month now.

Balance.

Why balance?  Because I find that I have committed to SO MANY ACTIVITIES, that I’m having trouble keeping everything in balance and prioritized.

Princess is a part of our lives now.  She needs attention, good attention, correct attention, that maybe she hasn’t had up to this point.  She’s a senior in high school, so our time together is limited.

Little Bit and Boo still need my attention.  I still homeschool them, even though we are trying to make them more accountable for their own education.  Boo starts dual credit classes tonight.  Pre-season track started last week.

Dale and I will celebrate 19 years of marriage this year.  It takes a lot of work to stay married and strong in that time.

My health is a concern right now.  I’ve been diagnosed as pre-diabetic, and today, the chiropractor diagnosed me with trochanteric bursitis.  I feel the time to “get better” is slipping rapidly away.  Which also leads to a bit of chronic depression.

I have this network marketing business that I’m trying to work.  It’s a product I believe in, but I have trouble approaching people about it.

I’m a writer.  Not a very good or prolific writer, but I do enjoy putting words down for others to read.  But my poor little blog doesn’t get the attention it deserves.  The words in my head don’t get put to paper as often as they should.

There’s the Renaissance Festival.  While the Festival itself isn’t until September and October, we’ve started.  We have Monday Night Dinners where we get together to talk about the upcoming season.  The recruiting party is in the middle of February.  Auditions will be in April.  The first promo for me is February 6, with 2 parades in March.

And we can’t forget church activities.  From working in the media room, to LifeGroups, to youth group activities, to just plain old Bible study, I feel like I am on the go all the time.

So my word for 2016 is Balance.  I need to find the balance in my life to maintain my health, my relationships, my job, my faith.  I don’t know how.  I only know to try.

So let’s see what 2016 holds.  Will you join me?

Hugs,
Melinda

BalanceRocks

3 thoughts on “My word for 2016

  1. Pingback: I am a writer. | Grateful Everyday

  2. Pingback: One Word 2017 | Grateful Everyday

Comments are closed.