FMF – Season

This post is part of Five Minute Fridays, a linkup over on Kate Motaung’s blog.  It’s a flash mob of writers from all over that write on the same word for 5 minutes once a week with no editing.  Then we all link back over at Kate’s, and we read each others work.

This week’s word is season.

SEASON

And GO:

It’s the season of giving, the season of life and light.  It’s a new season of life.

I love Christmas.  I love the joy and wonder on a child’s face.  I love the red and green and the silver and gold.

I love the Christmas carols, and the twinkiling lights.  I love the way everyone seems to be just a bit happier and just a bit more caring.

And while some people focus on the presents and the joy of Santa Claus, I want to make sure that I remember the reason for the season.

Did you know that it is entirely possible… even probable that Jesus was actually born in the springtime and not in the winter?

But he came.  He was born to a young teenage mother, in what amounts to a stable.  He didn’t have a crib, he had a feedbox.

And you know why?  Because he loved us.

Who, being in very nature[a] God,
    did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage;
rather, he made himself nothing
    by taking the very nature[b] of a servant,
    being made in human likeness.
And being found in appearance as a man,
    he humbled himself
    by becoming obedient to death—
        even death on a cross!

Philippians 2:6-8 (NIV)

The reason for the season is a baby.

STOP

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays.

Hugs,
Melinda

5 thoughts on “FMF – Season

  1. The verses you quoted here are some of my favorites. When I was in school I wrote a paper on the “pouring out” of Christ and came to realize that I’ll never plumb the depth of that mystery this side of Eternity. I’m simply thankful that He did it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it amazing? My preacher has said several times this year that he believes the greatest sacrifice Jesus made wasn’t that he was crucified, but that he gave up equality with God. The whole passage is fascinating.

      Like

  2. I can’t wait for Christmas now!

    Reading your post just put a smile on my face.

    Fun to know that Jesus was born in Spring. My 2nd is born Dec 23rd – it’s a tough time to be giving birth. I’m glad to know Mary didn’t have to then. 😉

    #xoxo
    (from FMF, btw)

    Like

  3. I love the scripture from Philippians. The King of Glory took on Human Form, and was born in the most humble of circumstances for us. Thank you for this wonderful reminder.

    Like

  4. I did actually know that it’s probable he came in the Spring because that’s when shepherds would have been hearding their sheep. I love this time of the year too especially the wonder of children. I’m parked over in the #46 spot this week.

    Like

Comments are closed.