I don’t believe in Mermaids or Fairies

This #write31days post is one in a series about the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  You can find the other posts here.

In my original plan for this challenge, I was going to write one post for every themed weekend.  In my original plan, today’s post should be about Oktoberfest and Columbus Day weekend.

Sorry, but that’s not going to happen.  I’m starting to forget a lot of things.  Instead, I’m going to tell you about something else that happened at least once a weekend, if not once or twice a day.

One of the wonderful things that happened because of the crazy weekend is that Tessa and I came up with a new “schtick” or a new interaction with the patrons.  Since she was the younger sister, she decided that she believed that mermaids and fairies were real.  I, being her older and wiser sister, told her she had to be wrong.

We would find a child, usually a girl child, between the ages of about 7 and 11, and start arguing in front of them, as we walked towards Mermaid Cove.  She would be trying to convince me that fish people were real, and I would be trying to convince her that they weren’t.

Usually, the patrons we were arguing in front of would point us to the cove, but once, I got a child to actually walk me to where the mermaids were located!  And of course, I would be absolutely flabbergasted that they were real.

Photo credit to Mark Leaver Cabin Boy and Maksim Merman

Photo credit to Mark Leaver
Cabin Boy and Maksim Merman

Photo credit to Mark Leaver Oceania

Photo credit to Mark Leaver
Oceania

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis Catherine and Oceania

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis
Catherine and Oceania

Of course, it helped that the mermaids played along and pretended not to believe in us as well.  Oceania, the girl in the picture above, is Tessa’s insooth sister.  (Insooth means in truth.)

And it didn’t matter if we had done this once a day or three times that day, this was always the result.

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

The first weekend we did this, we were walking out of Mermaid Cove, and I said, “Well, so you were right.  Mermaids are real.  Next thing you know, you will be telling me that Fairies exist too!”

So of course, we walked out right as a group of Fairies was passing.  I don’t remember all of them, but I do remember that Queen Titania in the purple was a part.

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

The really fun part of this is that we weren’t supposed to “see” the Fairies at all.  If we were in a hurry, we could sneeze and they wouldn’t bother us.  But otherwise, they would play.

So we walked out of the cove talking about how fairies weren’t real, and a little girl tells us, “they are RIGHT there.”  So I asked her to show me.  She took me right up to them, and I continued to not see them.

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis Not seeing the obvious.

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis
Not seeing the obvious.

One of the Fairies, Moth I think, said, “why don’t you blow pixie dust on them?”  So we closed our eyes, and everyone counted to three, and she blew pixie dust on us……  And we still couldn’t see them.

She tried and tried.  I felt bad that I couldn’t “see” them for her, but it was so much fun to try.

There was also the time that the fairy Clover started playing with my swishy sleeves.  It made me nervous, because I couldn’t explain it.

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

I tried really hard to get the fairies to play with us at least once a day.  It was always an adventure, and always fun to see what would happen.

Oktoberfest did happen to be the weekend that my mother in law and step father in law came to visit.  So Dale and the girls also came out to visit.  Dale decided that he wanted to be the wizard Fizban.

So imagine my surprise when Princess Sophia received a flower from Fizban.  I was quite taken aback.

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

Photo Credit to Becca Hollis

And happy.  😀

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Then it was time for the town dance.  The dance is at the end of the day when we are trying to get people towards the front gate, but not necessarily to leave.  We usually do 3 dances and then the king arrives.  This particular weekend, we only did 2, but I got my mother in law to dance with me.  That was fun.

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Little Bit and her cousin also danced with the other children and the tea duchess.

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

Photo credit to Becca Hollis

I also got Boo to dance with me.

Photo credit to Dale Hollis

Photo credit to Dale Hollis

It was a wonderful weekend. But I still don’t believe in mermaids or fairies.  😉

Hugs,
Melinda

One thought on “I don’t believe in Mermaids or Fairies

Comments are closed.