Shamrocks and Shenanigans

This #write31days post is one in a series about the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  You can find the rest of the series here.

I actually don’t remember very much about the fourth weekend.  I guess that means that it all went according to plan.  Which is actually very rare, since the first thing I learned about the festival is to “be flexible.”

So this post will be primarily pictures from my friend Rnee’.

Photo credit to Rnee' O'Brien

Photo credit to Rnee’ O’Bannon

This is outside the gates before the opening of the day.  Here you can see a picture of my basket that I used for the rest of the season to carry the tiaras that I handed out.  The fourth weekend is about when I hit my stride, when I felt like everything fell into place and I became “Princess Sophia.”  The tiaras helped.

Photo credit to Rnee' O'Brien

Photo credit to Rnee’ O’Bannon

This picture is right before the parade.

Photo credit to Rnee' O'Brien

Photo credit to Rnee’ O’Bannon

But this picture is really what the whole festival is about.  The people.  The magic on the little girls’ faces.  Talking to everyone.

Photo credit to Rnee' O'Brien

Photo credit to Rnee’ O’Bannon

Another parade.  I was very grateful for my parasol.  It kept me from burning a lot of the time.

Photo credit to Rnee' O'Brien

Photo credit to Rnee’ O’Bannon

And I just like this picture.  The water, the green, the light.  I just like it.

One more photo, but unfortunately, I don’t know who took it.

Last Huzzah - Do you know who took this picture?

Last Huzzah – Do you know who took this picture?

I’m on the far right in this picture.  Do you see the little girl in the pink shirt?  She walked up to me and held my hand during the last Huzzah, the last song.  I asked her if she wanted to go up to the front with the other kids, but no.  She wanted to hold my hand.

Well, that’s it.  That’s my fourth weekend.  Enjoy!

Hugs,
Melinda

