Highland Fling

This #write31days post is one in a series about the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  You can find the others in the series here.

PostFlinging

Highland Fling.  Scottish games, kilts, and bagpipes.  It was kind of a fun weekend.  Here’s what I wrote during the season.


The second week of Ren Fest was so much cooler than the first weekend.  It was wonderful!  I was able to work the whole weekend.

One of the things I like to do is to meet the children that come.  I always say something along the lines of “How are you this day, Sir Squire?” or “Princess” or whatever they may choose to dress up as.

On Sunday, there was a young boy, maybe about 7, dressed in a purple wizard’s robe and hat.  I said, “Hello Sir Wizard!  How are you this fine day?”  He looked at me, and said, “I’m not a wizard.”  So then I asked if he was a sorcerer, and he said no.  Then I asked if he was a knight, and he said no.  And he was also not a squire.

I was genuinely confused at this point.  “If you are not a wizard, and not a sorcerer, and not a knight, and not a squire, then what are you?”

He looked at me and sighed in his biggest sigh and said, “I am a PERSON!”

So for the rest of the day, he became “Sir Person.”


(Don’t worry.  I’m not going to cheat on my posts anymore.  That’s the last one I wrote on the correct weekend.)

And now for some pictures.  Because a picture is worth a thousand words, right?

Let’s talk about the parade.  We are required to walk the parade with the rest of the cast every day.  The Singing Princesses walked behind the Fairies.  All of the fairies.

We’re now going to play a game I like to call, “Spot the Princesses.”

Spot the Princesses

Do you see us?  How about a different angle?

SpotthePrincesses

We walked behind all the fairies, including the dragon fairy, who had very large wings.  It was a challenge to say the least.

The parade ended in the jousting arena, where we split into two groups as we waited the arrival of the king.

Joust

Joust

I want to introduce you to three more people.  Father DavidThis is Father David talking with the Spice Merchants.  Father David was not a character on cast, but a patron who walked around the fair and actually prayed with patrons.  He even prayed for me and my sisters at one point.  (But more on that later.)

Cinderella

This is Cinderella.  Every year, we have a scenario, a story that we try to tell throughout the day.  This year, it was the story of Cinderella.  The girl who played her was simply magnificent.

And last but not least….

Paige

Paige the elephant.  She seems to be one of the most beloved characters at the festival.  I actually got to feed her some apple slices before the festival actually started, and it was a very interesting experience.  🙂

Well, that’s it for the second weekend.  All photo credits go to Mark Leaver.  He’s an excellent photographer.  Next post will be about the third weekend.  Otherwise known as my world went crazy and I had to be a solo act.

Hugs,
Melinda

