Wonders of the World

This #write31days post is one in a series about the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  You can find the other posts in the series here.

This post is supposed to be about the first weekend of the Festival, which this year was called “Wonders of the World.”  I had written about my experiences in a previous post, but for ease, let me copy my words here.


The veteran performers for the KC Renaissance Festival said it more than once:  Be prepared.  The first weekend is hard.  The first weekend is hot.  Prepare yourself.

I didn’t listen very well.

Actually, I listened.  I just didn’t follow through very well.  It is rather embarrassing to be sent home for heat exhaustion twice, and to be on heat restrictions.  I’m fairly upset with how my body has let me down.  I want a magic pill to fix it all!  (Insert grumpy face here.)

But this blog is not about complaining.  This blog is about being thankful.

I am thankful that the medical staff knows the signs of heat stroke and heat exhaustion better than I do.  I am thankful that I paid attention to them instead of demanding to continue.  Mostly, I am thankful that I can recover and be healthy and happy and keep going and come back to play at a later time.  And I am extremely happy that this weekend will be 70 and 75 instead of 95 and heat index of 101.


I don’t really have anything else to add.  It was hot.  I didn’t get to really experience the full weekend and have lots to tell you, because I got sent home.  Twice.

Here are some pictures from the first weekend, courtesy of Mark Leaver.

The Bakers pre-floured

The Bakers pre-floured

How the Bakers normally looked

How the Bakers normally looked

Opening Gate scene. Their majesties had just arrived.

Opening Gate scene. Their majesties had just arrived.

My sisters without me.

My sisters without me.

Well, that’s all for now.  I have to go and get ready for the Halloween version of the Festival.  Boo decided she wanted to audition, so I joined in.  Tonight is our second show.  I’ll tell you more about that later.

Hugs,
Melinda

