What do you mean I have to dance?

This #Write31Days post is part of a series about the Kansas City Renaissance Festival.  You can find the rest of the series here.

First, thank you for allowing me a small break.  I will do my best to catch up, but now that the festival is actually over for the season, I have a chance to breathe and focus on more important things.  Like family, and grocery shopping, and cleaning my house, and school with my girls, and going to church on Sunday.  All the stuff that got shoved aside during the season.

So, back to festival postings.

Did I tell you that the “Singing Princesses” were considered both Royal Court and Village?  We were about half way through rehearsals when somebody said, “You should learn the court dances.”

Excuse me?  Do What??  Me.  Dancing???

You have to understand how I grew up.  I always heard, “Dancing is a sin.  Dancing is evil.  If you dance, you are going to Hell.”  Now that I’m older, I realize that the Bible doesn’t actually say that.  It’s someone’s interpretation, and I’m pretty sure that it’s incorrect.

But I still don’t know how to dance.

The Royal Court came together several times to practice dancing, and because these extra rehearsals were held at my church, I joined in.

But it’s not dancing like we typically think of today.  It is much more defined and rhythmic and it served a purpose.  Many details were worked out during a court dance.

I offer for your amusement, a recording of “The Unofficial Brawl.”  Please keep in mind that this is the first time I had danced this one. (I have a purple hoop skirt.)

Hugs,
Melinda

One thought on “What do you mean I have to dance?

  1. Fun! I’ve never been able to dance much, but I do know that the Bible tells us in Psalms that David danced before the Lord with all his might. If it’s good enough for David, dancing is good enough for me! Hugs!

    Like

Comments are closed.