Depression

I know depression.  I don’t talk about it much, but I’m finding the need to be more vocal about it.

I know the deep dark places of my mind.  I know what it is to walk to that place and not know if you’re going to come back from it, or if you even want to come back from it.  There is a very good reason that I don’t allow strong pain medication in my house.

I know what it is to want to scream and shout and cry (the ugly cry that is), and all the while, you also feel like you have to pretend that everything is really okay, and that you have that “happy” face on.  My least favorite conversation in the world starts with “Hi, how are you?”

I think the first time I was clinically depressed, I was suffering from post partum depression.  But it lingered.  Through the years, I have learned the value of a good counselor to talk to, and the importance of recognizing that I don’t feel “right.”  I know there are pills out there that can help, but at the same time, I don’t want to take them.

What I want to say about it is this:  God gave us good feelings, but He also gave us sad ones as well.  They are all part of the wonderful beauty of life, and they help us to feel alive.Darkness

God doesn’t always feel “happy go lucky.” Scientists have tried to explain the darkness at the crucifixion of Jesus as an eclipse, but I think it’s much more simple than that.  God had to turn away from His beloved Son, and it hurt Him.

It was now about noon, and darkness came over the whole land until three in the afternoon, for the sun stopped shining. And the curtain of the temple was torn in two.  Luke 23:44-45 NIV

It may not seem like it, but it does get better.  It’s not an overnight process.  My PPD was almost 16 years ago, and I still have moments of extreme overwhelming sadness.  But it does get better.  I no longer live in that sadness.

I’m saying all of this to come back to a point.  God loves you.  He cares for you.  He knows when you are hurting, and He wants to comfort you.  Please find that comfort in whatever form you need, if it is a listening ear, or a shoulder to cry on, or simply a friend that you can sit and be silent with.  God is with you, and He will walk that dark path with you if you simply let Him.

Hugs,
Melinda

P.S.  And I’m here for you, too.

Even though I walk
    through the darkest valley,
I will fear no evil,
    for you are with me;  Psalm 23:4 NIV

[ETA – I remembered that I had painted a picture that explains how I felt at one of my worst times.]

Depression and hope.

Depression and hope.

5 thoughts on “Depression

  1. I hate the “how are you question” because it has become more of a greeting, less of a I really want to know how you’re doing. When I ask, I really WANT to know! And when I’m asked, I’ll oftentimes tell you exactly where I’m at, or tell you that you really don’t want to know. Love you friend!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oh girl….I know depression too. The depression that descended on me after my son’s death was horrible. Truth be told I can’t say it’s all better even now. Psalm 23 is my go-to because I know deep in my ‘knower’ that my Heavenly Father is walking with me through my darkness and will walk with me until that glorious day when I dwell in His presence forevermore. Hugs and much love to you, Melinda.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a different type of hurt altogether. I’m not sure that will ever go away or be better. Maybe it will ease and lessen, and hopefully you can see the other side of the dark. And that’s what I want to say here. There IS another side. (((Hugs)))

      Melinda

      Like

Comments are closed.