FMF Retreat: Free Write — Tell

Tell…. Tell me the story.

I’m sitting here with Kate and … well, everyone! And we are all writing on the word tell.

And the first thing that comes to mind is “Tell me the story of Jesus.”

Tell me the story of Jesus,
Write on my heart every word.
Tell me the story most precious,
Sweetest that ever was heard.
Tell how the angels in chorus,
Sang as they welcomed His birth.
“Glory to God in the highest!
Peace and good tidings to earth.”

Fanny J. Crosby wrote these words.  Tell me the story most precious.

I sometimes feel like I don’t tell the story enough.  I’m trying.  I am developing relationships.  I am praying for people that I meet.  But do I really tell everyone I meet?

Do I give that Glory to God in the Highest?

Psalm 9:1-2 says this:

I will give thanks to you, Lord, with all my heart;
    I will tell of all your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and rejoice in you;
    I will sing the praises of your name, O Most High.

That is what I want.  That is what I desire.  To tell of God’s wonderful deeds in my life.  To praise his holy name.  To sing from the rooftops all that he has done for me.

The last verse of the song goes like this:

Tell of the cross where they nailed Him,
Writhing in anguish and pain.
Tell of the grave where they laid Him,
Tell how He liveth again.
Love in that story so tender,
Clearer than ever I see.
Stay, let me weep while you whisper,
Love paid the ransom for me.

And the chorus is just as sweet.

Tell me the story of Jesus,
Write on my heart every word.
Tell me the story most precious,
Sweetest that ever was heard.

If you don’t know the story of Jesus.  If you don’t know how he died and was raised again, then please, let me take a moment to tell you.

OBS-37-09

Hugs,
Melinda

I’m at the Five Minute Friday Retreat.  I’m really excited to be here.  We’re writing together.  It’s awesome to be here.

