FMF – Free

I’m late for Five Minute Friday.  But I’m really early for a Saturday morning.  It’s quiet and peaceful.  It seems like this is as good a time as any to write.  So, I’m going to join the gang over at Kate’s to write for five minutes uninterrupted.

It hardly seems possible that I will be at the FMF retreat in three weeks.  THREE WEEKS!  But boy, will I need it.  There are still some spots left open, so please feel free to join us.

The prompt for this week is FREE.

And GO:

I’m not sure I can write this in 5 minutes.  I know it’s a free write time, but there is so much in this passage.  In the book of John, chapter 8, verses 31-32, the Bible says, “To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.””

They then go back and forth about being Abraham’s descendants, and not being slaves.  But Jesus was talking about being a slave to your sin.  And he says in verse 36 “So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.”

Isn’t that wonderful?  That the Son sets us free from sin?

The end of the chapter is interesting as well.  I’ve written on it before, but in a nutshell, Jesus was claiming to be God.

But back to verses 31-47.  The Jews didn’t understand that there are things that can separate you from God.  I mean they did, because of the tradition of sacrifices and scapegoats and such, but did they understand that what they do could also keep them apart from God?

Did you know you can’t out give God?  It’s just not possible.

And STOP

Wow… My writing is sort of all over the place this morning.  The short version is, I want to know God and his truth.  Jesus says that I have to hold to his teaching in order to do that.  So again, today, I choose to follow him.  Will you join me?

Hugs,
Melinda

So if the Son sets you free, you will be

2 thoughts on “FMF – Free

Comments are closed.