FMF – Hope

IMG_0006
My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.
On Christ the solid rock I stand.
All other ground is sinking sand.
All other ground is sinking sand.

So many times, the prompt of the week reminds me of a song.  Considering how I took the time to pause and listen to words this week, I find this song means more today.

What have I been building my hope on?  What have I been trusting?  Is it God the Father?  Is it Jesus?  I certainly hope so, and if not, then I hope I can return to that hope, that salvation found only in Him.

I love the “classic” church songs.  Too many of the newer songs don’t seem to glorify God as much as the older ones do.  (Oh that was a total tangent. Sorry.)

Hope is fragile, and beautiful.  Hope is a wonderful thing to see.  Hope is more than the beauty of the lights on the Christmas tree.  It is more than the anticipation of a husband returning after a year away at war.  Hope is…. Hope is surrounding your dying mother and singing songs of Heaven to her while she makes her transition to a Heavenly body.  Hope is knowing that you may be seeing the earthly shell of your father, but one day, you will see his new body.  Hope is knowing that your parents are not hurting any more, and that one day, you will be together again, singing songs of praise to God.

That is hope.

IMG_2717

It’s time for Five Minute Friday again.  Time to get the prompt from Kate, and write with the rest of the flash mob for 5 minutes, unedited.  No back tracking.  Just 5 minutes all to itself.  Make sure you link up and leave a comment for other people, cause that’s half the fun.  Oh… today’s prompt is HOPE.

Hugs,
Melinda

11 thoughts on “FMF – Hope

  1. Your tangent just means you’re keeping it real while free writing. 😉 I love what you said about hope. Hope often accompanies loss doesn’t it? Hope in Christ…such a precious gift He’s given us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness I almost used that hymn for the prompt too!! Love that hymn!!! I am asking myself that question now too; “What am I standing on?” Loved your descriptions of hope!!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.