A Pause

Today.

Today has been one of those kinds of days.  I’ve been overwhelmed, and rushed, and grumpy, and all kinds of crazy.  I was scrolling on Facebook this morning when a friend posted this article.  And I stopped and took the time to read it.  Please take a moment and go read it, too.  It’s not long.  And it’s worth it.

Okay, are you back now?  See, it didn’t take long.

Semi-colons.  They are a pause.  I was really struck by those words.  Or that my story isn’t over yet.

A semicolon is used when an author could’ve chosen to end their sentence, but chose not to. The author is you and the sentence is your life.  – Project Semicolon

I’m going to take a minute here.  I want to make sure you have the link to their home page.  This project, this movement is worthy of all the attention we can give it.

So I went about the rest of the day.  Rushed.  Grumpy.  Snapping at the children.  Generally overwhelmed with all the responsibilities that seem to keep piling up.

The short version is I was not in a good mood.

I’ve been learning how to cope with stress in an appropriate manner.  Today at the store, I picked up chocolate, wine coolers, and bubble bath.  I’ve learned through the years that I’m a stress eater.  Not a good thing.  But I got them anyway.

And I got in the car.

And I turned on the radio.

I’ve heard of this happening before, but it has never happened to me.  But the right song came on as I turned on the radio to K-LOVE.

And it moved me.

To the point of tears.

Lay your head down tonight
Take a rest from the fight
Don’t try to figure it out
Just listen to what I’m whispering to your heart

I knew from the music that it was Stephen Curtis Chapman singing Glorious Unfolding.  But maybe I’ve never really listened to the words before.  Maybe I’ve never taken that pause.

Cause I know this is not
Anything like you thought
The story of your life was gonna be
And it feels like the end has started closing in on you
But it’s just not true
There’s so much of the story that’s still yet to unfold

And I know that God was speaking to me in the only way I seem to listen to Him these days.  I have long admired the Chapmans for their faith and their bravery through tragedy.  I have loved Stephen’s music even longer.

God’s plan from the start
For this world and your heart
Has been to show His glory and His grace
Forever revealing the depth and the beauty of
His unfailing Love
And the story has only begun

And this is going to be a glorious unfolding
Just you wait and see and you will be amazed
We’ve just got to believe the story is so far from over
So hold on to every promise God has made to us
And watch this glorious unfolding

It goes so well with Project Semicolon, doesn’t it?

I’m a little less stressed now.  Not because any of my commitments have changed, but because I’ve rested.

I’ve paused.

I’ve made a commitment to myself and to God to take that pause, that rest, because He is the author of my story and above all else, I live for His glory.

WP_20150707_21_28_04_Pro

 And because I simply can not come this far without turning to the Bible, here is a verse for you to consider.

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love,
    for I have put my trust in you.
Show me the way I should go,
    for to you I entrust my life.  Psalm 143:8

If you are at the end of your rope, if you find yourself thinking you are at the end, then please, please, please pause.  Take a moment.  Talk to someone.  Your story isn’t over yet.

Hugs,

Melinda

5 thoughts on “A Pause

  1. Today, over twenty veterans killed themselves.

    Another twenty or so will do the same tomorrow.

    We owe these guys and gals everything we have in this country…and we’re losing a couple of regiments every year, because the VA doesn’t want to hear that it’snot measuring up…and the public doesn;t want to know just what freedom costs.

    I hope it was OK that I got this off my chest.

    I have PTSD, I have a hotline programmed into my phone as a one-touch…and it hurts.

    Like

    • It is absolutely fine that you got it off your chest. It is a sad statistic and fact that we aren’t taking as good a care of our men and women in uniform as we should. I guess some people believe that PTSD was a WWII thing, or a Vietnam thing. That it doesn’t happen today. They are so wrong.

      I’m glad you have the hotline programmed into your phone. Please use it if you need it. But I pray you never need it.

      Like

  2. Two things I want to share with you. First, I can’t tell you how refreshing your comments are on the Semicolon Project! I’ve heard a lot of Christians say a lot of well, less than Christian things about the topic, but your message is exactly what so many need to hear!
    Second, I like you have heard that song before without the lyrics really sinking in…which is odd for me because music speaks to me the way nothing else does. Or probably more accurately as you described it, God speaks to me through music because for some reason that’s how I listen to Him. At any rate not only had I not paused to listen to the lyrics but I definitely had never seen the music video before. You know me, so you know I’ve really been struggling with loosing my Mom almost a year ago. In that heartbreak there have been so many times that I’ve felt like the end has started closing in on me, that I was at the end of my rope. That video touched me in a way that I can’t even fully put into words! That note from the the Dad at the end could have been straight from my Mom for me!

    Thank you for pausing and for sharing so gracefully your words!

    Like

    • I was in tears before the first chorus yesterday. Not that I was suicidal yesterday, because I fight that demon, but because I felt like I needed to escape and I wasn’t doing it in a healthy way. And while I listen to K-LOVE on a regular basis, at times, it just becomes noise. Yesterday, it was like God reached down and turned the song on just for me, saying Stop.

      And Dyanna, if you ever need to talk and just let it out, let me know. We can pause together. Okay?

      Like

  3. Pingback: FMF – Hope | Grateful Everyday

Comments are closed.