FMF – Rise

It’s late, but I’m going to try to participate in Five Minute Fridays anyway.  We had a rehearsal for the Renaissance Festival tonight, so again, I missed the twitter party.  They are so much fun.  But hopefully I’ll get to chat next week.

Okay, so today’s prompt is rise.

GO:

You have searched me, Lord,
    and you know me.
You know when I sit and when I rise;
    you perceive my thoughts from afar.
You discern my going out and my lying down;
    you are familiar with all my ways.  Psalm 139:1-3

The Lord knows when I rise.  He knows every time I get out of bed to check on a child.  He knows every step I’ve paced worrying about them.  He knows every dream I have ever had (and every nightmare.)  The Lord KNOWS me.

It’s very awe inspiring and even a little bit scary.  Because I don’t know that even Dale knows every little thing about me.  (He does know quite a lot, but not every thing.)

It makes this part of Psalm 139 even more difficult to say.

Search me, God, and know my heart;
    test me and know my anxious thoughts.
24 See if there is any offensive way in me,
    and lead me in the way everlasting.   Psalm 139:23-24

Because he does know.  He knows when I have panic attacks, or when I have a major depressive episode.  He knows I have been offensive at times.

And yet, he is still leading me.  He is guiding me and teaching me, and showing me how to rise on wings like eagles.  He is teaching me how to walk in his way.

He knows me, and he loves me anyway.

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

Psalm139
nda

4 thoughts on “FMF – Rise

  1. Yes, Melinda, he knows it all! Love Psalm 139. That second half of the verse truly is difficult to read and believe in. But its oh so true, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Melinda, He does know all of us, and He still loves us passionately. It’s beyond my comprehension how God does that. Psalm 139 is one of my favorite-ever psalms. And those verses? They kind of splay us wide open in our vulnerabilities, don’t they?

    Beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your words remind me of this:

    “I drew them with gentle cords,
    With bands of love,
    And I was to them as those who take the yoke from their neck.
    I stooped and fed them.” – Hosea 11:4

    God’s love causes me to marvel. He knows us, really knows us, like you said – and yet He loves.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.