FMF – Follow

Happy Friday everyone.  It’s that time again.  It’s time for Five Minute Fridays and the FMF Party on Twitter.  Of course, the twitter party is on Thursday.  I spent most of my favorite time of the week driving.  That’s right, while Kate and the gang were having fun at the FMF Party on Twitter, I was driving down I-549 in Arkansas/Louisiana to see my beautiful niece graduate.  WP_20141213_17_52_14_Pro (2)

Basic rules:

  1. Write on the given word prompt (found at the link above.)
  2. Write for 5 minutes
  3. Write unedited
  4. Go back to the link up and leave your link (the web address of the post, not the main address of your blog)
  5. Leave a comment on the link before yours.

So all that being said, this week’s word is Follow.

And… GO:

So they pulled their boats up on shore, left everything and followed him.  Luke 5:11

What does it mean to leave everything?  What does it mean to leave EVERYTHING and follow Jesus?  I can say I follow Jesus.  But have I left everything?

Have I left behind in this old life:

  • Jealousy?
  • Anger?
  • Family?
  • Home?
  • The comforts of my first world country?
  • Being comfortable with who and what I am?
  • Titles?
  • Money?
  • Sin?

Jesus asked his disciples to leave it all.  Peter and John left their fishing boats.  Matthew left behind his tax collection.  James and John left behind their father.  The rich young ruler was asked to leave behind his wealth.

What about you?  What has Jesus asked you to leave behind?  What are you willing to leave in order to focus solely on him and his word?

I am trying to live more fully with Jesus.  Maybe that means I really need less in order to have more.

STOP.

Hugs,
Melinda

2 thoughts on “FMF – Follow

  1. Melinda, yes. I think we all need to give up something. I have so many friends who have gone over seas to serve. They truly have given up a lot of comforts. And by the way, glad you got to be at your nieces graduation but we did miss you at the Twitter party.

    Like

  2. I wondered where you were, but, like the dork that I am, forgot to actually send the tweet and ask.

    This is a tough one for me. I think leaving behind everything looks different for each of us, and we have to learn to discern what Christ is asking us to give up vs. what He’s asking someone else to give up. Me? I’m sensing that maybe I’m spending too much time on the internet. It’s a fun place, but for every moment I spend here, I should be spending twice that in His word.

    Like

Comments are closed.