Overwhelmed

I find myself becoming overwhelmed.  The Renaissance Festival has already taken more time than I ever thought possible, and official rehearsals haven’t even started yet.

Daddy’s memorial service is this weekend, and today… well, this whole week, but specifically today, I have been overwhelmed with “have you done this,” “have you called this person,” “what about this person,” and “we need to know this.”

I’m at the church building in the media room typing this post during class, because I just haven’t had any other time to do it.  And today’s topics are also overwhelming.

May 11: 3 gifts about your parents

  1. The loved me unconditionally.  (447)
  2. They showed me what true love looks like. (448)
  3. They taught me about God.  (449)

May 12: 3 gifts found in your mother

  1. Her smile. (450)
  2. Her compassion for everyone, but especially the underdogs (451)
  3. Her hardworking attitude. (452)

May 13: 3 gifts held in your hand today

  1. Roses from my bush. They are gorgeous this year. (453)
  2. Glass of ice water.  (454)
  3. It’s not in my hand, it’s in my arms.  All the hugs I receive at church help me survive.  (455)

IMG_2717

So, I wanted to be prepared with a verse, a scripture that would bring me good cheer, and a good heart.  Because I’m sure I’m not the only one who has ever been overwhelmed.  And you know what?  I’m not.

Then he said to them, “My soul is overwhelmed with sorrow to the point of death. Stay here and keep watch with me. – Matthew 26:38 NIV

Jesus was overwhelmed.  Now, I’m not saying that overwhelmed to the point of death, but in a weird way, it brings me comfort to know that Jesus, the Lord of creation was overwhelmed.   That because he got through it, I can too.  I know that because he uttered the words in verse 39, that I can too.

Going a little farther, he fell with his face to the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, may this cup be taken from me. Yet not as I will, but as you will.”

So, I may be overwhelmed, but I can still do what God asks me to do.  Whatever that is.

Hugs,
Melinda

2 thoughts on “Overwhelmed

  1. There is something so comforting in knowing Jesus experienced human emotions too. He too was overwhelmed. I take comfort in that too. Praying for you friend!

    Like

    • I think that’s what I was really trying to say. My brain is on overload these days, so what I was thinking doesn’t always translate to my fingers. Lol. Thank you for clarifying. 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.