On the subject of Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day. It’s iconic, really. Flowers, cards, maybe lunch at your favorite restaurant.

But what does it mean?

I’ve had a mother. I am a mother. I’ve known other mothers. Single moms, foster moms, adoptive moms.

I’ve known ladies who are yearning to be moms, but their bodies don’t work right, so they have fur babies until they can hold a human baby. That does not make them less of a mom.

I’ve known moms with angel babies. Mother’s Day can be hard because they don’t have that little one to hold their hand. (Elijah would have been 15 this year.)

What I’m trying to say is this. Mothers come in all shapes and sizes. The one thing they have in common is their love of children and the size of their hearts. Mother’s Day can be hard, so open up your arms and give them a little squeeze today. They need to know they are still valued.

Hugs,
Melinda

