My one word

Hello again, my friends.

I keep seeing posts about “my one word” and “what is your word.”  I think I figured it out.  As I understand it, it’s a word that you follow, or live your life by, or something along those lines.  I wasn’t going to do it, because I don’t want to follow along with the crowd, but I think my word found me.

My word?  BRAVE.

All year, I keep finding things that challenge me, that stretch me as a person.

First is the auditions for the Renaissance Festival.  Forget the festival itself.  Getting through auditions will be a huge thing for me.  I literally started shaking while I wrote this, because I have paralyzing stage fright.  As much as I love theater, I have never made it on stage.

Second is the FMF Retreat.  Not the retreat itself, but the driving to Nashville and meeting women that I’ve only ever talked with through a computer screen.  I’m an introvert.  This type of behavior is completely out of the ordinary for me.

And lastly…tomorrow, I’m doing a video interview with Asheritah for a Five Minute Friday introduction.  Why?  Because Tiffany challenged me to be brave.  So I am.

I have to keep going back to the first chapter of Joshua.  God told Joshua 3 times in the first chapter to be strong and courageous.  If you include Deuteronomy, then God actually told him a total of 7 times.  7 times!  To be strong and courageous.

A few years ago, my husband and I participated in a Bible study about change.  The one thing that struck me more than anything else was how I have to get out of the way in order for God to do great things through me.  The phrase has bounced around in my head ever since then to the point that it has made me reevaluate Philippians 4:16.

Not I, but Christ.

If we get out of the way, then Christ can do all things, using us.  Or, I can do all things because of Christ who strengthens me.

So, next time you see me, if it’s in person, or online, please know I am trying very hard to be brave, because God has asked me to do so for His glory.

Hugs,
Melinda

seasonalspecials.com

And because music makes everything better…. A video for your enjoyment.

