FMF – Tomorrow

“Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow.  It’s only a day away.”  Seriously, that’s what first popped into my head when Kate gave us the prompt.  Then there was the verses in James 4:13-15 about doing this or that tomorrow, and saying “if the Lord wills.”

Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.  Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

So I looked for another verse.  I took Holly’s advice and looked for a verse on Bible Gateway.  And Matthew 6:34 came up.

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

My Spanish teacher in high school would quote this all the time.  She was a good old soul, and I enjoyed her classes.  But she didn’t want us to worry about things we couldn’t control.

Now, I’m a pretty regular NIV user, but I like to compare different versions.  I feel it gives me a more complete picture of what is being said.  So I would like to show you what this verse looks like in The Message.

Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now, and don’t get worked up about what may or may not happen tomorrow. God will help you deal with whatever hard things come up when the time comes.

Give your entire attention to what God is doing right now.  Focus on the now.  Focus on the daughter drawing rainbow pictures, or the daughter that is writing a novel for a fan fiction site.  Focus on your husband as he tells you about his day.  Enjoy the moment s you have.  Cherish them.  Be purposeful.

Because God has a beautiful plan in store for you, and He will take care of your tomorrow.

Hugs,
Melinda

tranquility

10 thoughts on “FMF – Tomorrow

  1. I really like the MSG take on those words! Give my entire attention to what God is doing right now. I’m really not good at that. Maybe I’ll print out your lovely graphic as a reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I found you via the Five Minute Friday link up. I appreciated your words to focus on what God is doing right now in the conversations with our husbands and interactions with our children. I know to do this, but I always can use the reminder. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so bad about it, honestly. I have a 10 year old who talks non stop. I have to remind myself to stop and listen to what she’s saying.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Like

  3. “God will help you deal with whatever comes your way” Oh how life would be so different if I ran to Him instead of trying to keep my controlling hands on everything.
    Thank you for the reminder that He is in the small things and that our souls will be filled if we relish them as they come and banish worry to the curb.
    I love comparing cases in different verses.. sometimes thoughts I’ve read numerous times before just jump off the page at me. sooo thankful for your sharing here.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Kindred spirits! That song was the first thing that popped into my head too. That Matthew verse brings so much comfort. I too enjoy looking at other translations. I love how the Message translates many of my face verses.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It didn’t help that my kids just watched the new version and wouldn’t let me sing the songs the “right” way. lol

      I don’t use the Message for …. reliability? definitive translating? I don’t know. It’s not my go to translation. It is the one I go to when I just want to read God’s word, or want to be encouraged, or need to look at it differently. But I do love it.

      Like

Comments are closed.