The Plan – FMF

The plan was to stay.  The plan was to be close to my mom and dad.  I was going to work in an office at the university like she did.  I was going to have my children grow up near their grandparents.  I was going to live in the same house forever and ever, amen.  I was going to continue to attend the extremely large church that I grew up in.

That was the plan.

We had planned to live in Missouri forever.  And then we moved to Louisiana.

We had planned to live in our trailer, our “first house.”  And then Dale joined the Army.

We had planned to make the Army a career.  Then Dale got “that lieutenant.”

We had planned to go to Qatar to work for 3 years.  And we came back to Missouri for a visit.

I had planned to go back to school for a new degree once Little Bit went to Kindergarten.  Then we decided to homeschool Boo.

Throughout our lives, we have had so many plans that fell through.  The one constant has been, is, and always will be God.  It reminds me of these verses from James 4.

13 Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” 14 Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. 15 Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.”

That’s what I plan to do.  “If it is the Lord’s will.”  May I always remember.

Hugs,  Melinda

This post is part of Five Minute Fridays, where bloggers get together and write for 5 minutes, no editing, no backtracking, and you leave a comment on the blog before you.  Join us over at Kate’s blog to figure out all the nitty gritty details.

10 thoughts on “The Plan – FMF

  1. I am visiting from FMF … love what you wrote and YES it’s all a plan but sometimes not the plan we had put in front of us .. it’s about accepting what is in front of us.. I wrote something similar .. I love the words you chose 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh this sounds familiar! I have had so many plans in life that haven’t quite worked out like I wanted, but I have discovered that if I follow Him, His plans are far better than my own! Stopping by from FMF! Have a blessed weekend!

    Like

Comments are closed.