Five Minute Friday – Gather

This post is part of Five Minute Fridays, a party hosted by Kate, where a bunch of writers get together and write on a prompt word for five minutes straight.  No editing, no backtracking, no complaining.  Then we link up and encourage each other with our comments.  Pretty easy right?

You would be amazed at how fast five minutes flies by.

This week’s word is gather.

It’s 12:30 in the morning.  I went to bed at 9.  I should be asleep.  I want to be asleep.  But I can’t.  My oldest daughter says “what are you thinking about?”  Then I start thinking that maybe the prompt is mine because I need to gather my thoughts.

I itch, I hurt, I worry about the drive home tomorrow.  I worry about my dad.  I think of my blog and how I’m excited to be using WordPress instead of Blogger now.  But how I want to post.  And how I missed not staying for the whole twitter party.  But how excited I am for the FMF Retreat that’s happening in August.

I think of my oldest, and her birthday.  I think of my youngest and her energy.  I miss my husband, my dog, my bed.  I scratch the itches.

The oldest is wiggly, more wiggly than I remember, so I go get a shower in order for her to go fully asleep.  The youngest is in a weird position, but I chuckle, because that’s normal.

I think about the book I’m reading and how I want to devour it, because it’s good, but how I need to savor it, because it must be relished.

My pillows need fluffing.  I need to get to sleep if I’m ever going to be able to drive home tomorrow.

And with my thoughts gathered in one place, maybe I can finally drift off to sleep.

Hugs, Melinda

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday – Gather

  1. Melinda, I’m very familiar with the need to gather my thoughts before going to sleep at night. Sometimes I can be satisfied with jotting them quickly in a journal by my bed and other times, I’m up late writing about them…like you! So glad to be in good company. Hope you got a great night’s sleep once you drifted off! 🙂

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean about needing to gather my thoughts. It’s sometimes so hard to “turn off” my brain at night when I have a lot on my mind or it’s just been a really busy day. Your description of your oldest’s concern and the youngest’s odd position made me smile because it makes me think of my oldest two and how they are. 🙂 Hope you managed to get a bit of sleep! See you next week at the #fmfparty!

    P.S. Was it hard to make the transition from Blogger over to Word Press? I’ve been toying with the idea of doing that at some point. I’d love to hear about your experience with that.

    Like

  3. My youngest was a hoot. She decided she needed to sleep in a recliner (that doesn’t recline) instead of stretching out on the couch. I got a bit more sleep. Not a lot. I took a 10 hour trip and turned it into a 13 hour trip, and I still have at least 3.5 hours to get home.

    So far, it hasn’t been that difficult. I have a few links I need to fix, but I was frustrated with Blogger after I lost comments. The funniest thing is that WordPress saw my Blogger labels as “categories” instead of “tags.” Not anything big, just funny to me.

    Thank you for stopping by. If you have any questions, I’ll do my best. 😀

    Like

    • Thank you. 😀 Glad to be home. And I may need to get a WordPress tutorial from you at some point in the future. We may need to get together on a Friday and write. 😉

      Like

Comments are closed.