Siesta Scripture Memory Team

I have loved Beth Moore from the very first time I read one of her books.  I have loved reading her blog and following her on Twitter and Facebook.

And I have tried to follow along with her Siesta Scripture Memory Team at least 3 times previous to this year.

Every other year, Beth encourages her “Siestas” to memorize scriptures.  (Siestas are the people who read her blog.  She was trying to type “Sisters” and it came out “Siestas.”)  She posts on the 1st and the 15th of every month, for a total of 24 verses in a year.  At the end of the year, she throws a party in Houston for everyone who has kept up with the goal.

I am determined that this year, I will be at that party.

Not to meet Beth, although that would be fun.  Not to drive to Houston by myself, because that is almost terrifying.  I want to go, because I want to learn the scripture and hide it in my heart.

To help with that goal, I’m going to type out the scriptures I’ve worked on so far.  Repetition is the key to memory, right?

“Whatever you give is acceptable if you give it eagerly.  And give according to what you have, not what you don’t have.”  2 Corinthians 8:12 (NLT)

“Let your gentleness be evident to all.  The Lord is near.”  Philippians 4:5 (NIV)

“I have not departed from the commands of his lips.  I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.”  Job 23:12 (NIV)

“Cast all your anxiety on the Lord because he cares for you.”  1 Peter 5:7 (NIV)

“My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.”  John 10:27 (NIV)

And that’s where I’m at.  I am kind of thinking about going back and learning some of the other verses in 2 Corinthians 8 and in Job 23.  I haven’t decided yet.  But I think it’s important to memorize God’s word, and my hope and prayer is that I can follow through this year.  I hope you join the “Siestas” and memorize right along with us.

What’s your favorite passage of Scripture, and do you have it memorized?

Hugs, Melinda

