For this child I have prayed

 I prayed for this child, and the Lord has granted me what I asked of him. 1 Samuel 1:27 (NIV) 

In the first chapter of 1 Samuel, Hannah is found in the temple praying earnestly to the Lord for a child, praying so hard that Eli, the high priest, thought she was drunk.

God chose to answer her prayer.

I believe that we should pray for our children, earnestly, sincerely, continuously.  I may not be praying to have a child, but I pray for my child.

I have prayed wisdom, patience, and courage through her early years.

I have prayed kindness, sincerity, and honesty for her.

I am praying for her even now.  Compassion, integrity, and a searching heart.

And on this, the eve of her rapidly approaching sixteenth birthday, I see the evidence that God has granted me what I have asked of him.

Kindness for her friend who calls her in tears.

Patience with her little sister.

A heart that searches for God and the truth found in His word.

Compassion for her ailing grandfather.

Courage to face the future with God.

My daughter is a beautiful young lady that I love more than I ever thought I could possibly love another human being.  I am so excited to see what her future brings.

Happy birthday, my child.  I love you.  I am praying for you.

Hugs, Melinda

98d14-wp_20150109_09_35_12_pro

One thought on “For this child I have prayed

  1. Pingback: A new stage of life | Grateful Everyday

Comments are closed.