Role reversal

I’m having a flashback tonight. I’m sitting in a kitchen chair. My daddy is teaching me how to tie my shoes. After watching him do it several times, I finally figure it out.

Today, I find myself in front of his wheelchair, helping him adjust his socks and making sure his shoes are securely on his feet.

WP_20150228_12_02_34_Pro

This role reversal that I find myself in is uncomfortable, like too tight skin. It hurts to see my father literally breaking down before my very eyes.

I know that this is what God wants me to be doing. I know that my children are learning and watching. I am thankful for the opportunity to try to repay my daddy for taking care of me.

But it still hurts.

Dear Lord, please be with my daddy. Please be with us as we adjust to this reversal of roles.

Hugs,
Melinda

