FMF – Open

This post is part of Five Minute Fridays, an internet party where bloggers get together to write for 5 minutes on the same word, with no editing and no backtracking.  Come join in the fun!  This week’s word is Open.

GO:

The Cat who thinks she’s starving.

Scratch, scratch, scratch.  Scratch, thump.  Scratch, thump.

The cat wants her food.  She knows where we keep it.  She wants me to open the door.

Scratch, thump.  Scratch, thump.  Thump, thump, thump.

I can hear her, you know.  It’s a regularly accepted fact that I can talk for our animals, and right now she’s saying, “Silly human, why is the door to my food closed?  Please open it right now.  You have nothing better to do.”

I didn’t want to write today.  I’ve been writing well for the past few days, and yet, no one seems to appreciate my writing.  I didn’t want to open my heart to more criticism.  I want to leave that door closed.

And yet, I hear God saying, “Open the door today.  Open it just a little.”

And I am reminded of what he says in Revelation 2:8.  Yes… Revelation.

I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.

God has an open door policy.  He wants you to come before him and lay EVERYTHING down at his feet.  He wants you to come through that door.  Do you have the strength to walk through?

STOP

Hugs,
Melinda

[eta – as soon as I hit publish, the cat was at the door begging for her food.  I had to take a picture.]

