An almost normal day

This is an almost normal day.  The girls are up and working on their school work.  Dale is home from his normal job because of the holiday, but he’s still working.  It snowed last night, so the ground outside is blindingly white.  I have accomplished about half of what I need to get done today, and yet, I want to stop and take a breath.

A pause.

A moment to say thank you to God.

Because that is really what this challenge is about.  This Joy Dare, the 1000 gifts challenge.  It’s about recognizing the movement of God in my life and thanking him for each and every single moment and blessing that he has given me.  Thank you Lord, for the blessing of my life.

February 14: 3 ways you feel the love of God

  1. My children.  I understand a parent’s love so much more now.  I understand the love of the Father from being a parent.  136
  2. My husband.  It might be cliché, but I truly do feel like I understand God’s love better because of the love of my husband.  He has truly taught me a lot.  137
  3. I feel the love of God when I stop to consider how he takes care of the eagles, and how he takes care of us.  138

February 15: A gift in losing, finding, making something

  1. “I might need it someday.” There is a gift in losing that attitude.  139
  2. I recently found a letter from my mother.  It was a very much needed gift.  140
  3. I love giving the gift of dinner.  I love cooking for my family.  I love making good things for them to eat.  141

February 16: 3 gifts in shadows

  1. Without shadows, the pictures would look flat and dull.  Shadows are a gift.  142
  2. What is it about the dark that makes some people more open to talking?  Thank you God for the communication of the dark.  143
  3. I don’t know.  Would losing a parent to a slow disease be counted as a shadow?  Would recognizing that your time is limited be the gift?  There are so many unknowns.  I know there is a gift there somewhere, but I don’t see it clearly now.  Maybe the gift is the shadow of the unknown.  144

This “attitude of gratitude” that I’m trying to develop is starting to change how I view things.  I’m trying to see the ordinary as a gift.  Won’t you join me on this journey?  What do you thank God for today?

Hugs, Melinda

