FMF – Keep

This post is part of the fun that happens over at Five Minute Fridays.  You write for 5 minutes, unedited, no backtracking, just write.  Then go back over and comment on the person before you.  Comments are half of the fun.  Today’s prompt is Keep.

GO:

The Lord bless you and keep you…

To be honest, I’ve had that song in my head ever since I saw the word was keep.  So I’ve spent a bit more than 5 minutes in trying to find the verse that it’s from and a copy of the song that I grew up singing.

I love choir.  I loved every moment I spent under the teaching of my director, Mr. Craig Jones.  I still remember all the words, and most of the songs that I learned.  This song was so very beautiful.  It was graceful, and soaring, and … beautiful.

So here’s the verses from Numbers 6:24-26

The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make his face shine on you and be gracious to you; the Lord turn his face toward you and give you peace.

And here’s a video of the Harding Academy Chorus singing “The Lord Bless You and Keep You” under Mr. Jones.

The song is a benediction, a prayer.  We usually sing it when we are saying goodbye.  It’s a precious blessing, and I hope the Lord grants you peace.
Hugs,
Melinda
[eta: This is what I left on Facebook for Mr. Jones to find.  Mr. Craig Jones, this post is for you. It’s not eloquent, but… Thank you. Thank you for teaching me to love music, to sight read, to appreciate the value of P.D.Q. Bach, and for Wednesday night Bible study where I learned to love the book of Romans. Thank you.]
Uncategorized