Communion Bread

The church I attend has communion or The Lord’s Supper every Sunday.  One of the older ladies of the congregation taught me how to make the unleavened bread, and I would like to share the recipe with you. 

Communion Bread

  • 3 c flour
  • 1/2 c Crisco or margarine
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar

Mix with fork (or blender) until crumbly.  Now, her directions say to use 1 T water for each 1/3 c of mix.  Personally, I divide the mix into half, because it stores pretty easy.  I’ll add about a cup of water to the half I’m making, until it clings together. 

Then roll out the dough to 1/8″ thick on a well greased cookie sheet.

Here’s the interesting part.  Take a plastic ruler and score the dough into 1/4-1/2″ squares.  Yes, a plastic ruler.  I actually have two.  I have a full 12 inch ruler and one that’s about 6″ long.  The short one makes it easier to go across the pan the short way.

Bake at 300 degrees for 30 minutes, until it is more than light golden brown and doughy, and less than dark golden brown and crunchy.  After it’s through baking, use a pizza cutter to fully cut the squares apart. 

Again, my friend’s directions say to serve 100 people it takes 1 1/3 c of mix and 4 T water.  I use about 1/2 the mix and 1 c of water. 

It is such an interesting way to serve the Lord and His church.  I have prayed many times for the people while making this.  I really enjoy serving God in this way.  I hope this tutorial helps you to serve Him as well.

Hugs,
Melinda

