Going Dark

This is part of a 31 day challenge.  Find all the other posts here.  

My husband and I were watching a movie the other day, and the director decided that he needed the operations room to “go dark.”  I don’t know what that phrase means, and since my mom’s favorite phrase was “look it up,” that’s what today’s post is all about.

According to UrbanDictionary.com it is a “slang term in the intelligence world which means you go silent.  You don’t speak or communicate with anyone for a given period or time.  It is a way of protecting yourself from someone who would do you harm.


There was also an interesting answer on this page that appears to be from someone who has used it before: “Going dark is a Military term we used quite a bit in the Marine Corps Infantry when I was in. It means “Radio silence” driving “black out” with no lights and basically incognito and stealth mode. I use it nowadays when I let people know I am cutting off my cell phone so they won’t try and contact me.


All of which makes this story extremely interesting.  Especially since finding the article that it references was slightly difficult.  Apparently, the CIA has “gone dark” in Europe.


My other question is what are “black ops?”  I can guess what it is, but like I said before, my mom always told me to look it up for myself.


According to Wikipedia, a black operation is a covert or clandestine operation, and according to this page, the CIA is the one that “must lead covert operations unless the president finds that another agency should do so and properly informs the Congress.”  Their authority to do so comes from the National Security Act of 1947.  You know?  The Act that officially established the CIA.

One last thing.  The National Clandestine Service is an arm of the CIA that performs the “black ops” for the CIA.

“Bond.  James Bond.”

And let’s not forget about everyone’s favorite black op agent.  Because I mean really.  What else is he if he’s not a black op?

Okay, this is EXTREMELY interesting to me.  I couldn’t remember who James Bond works for.  (Is it MI5?  MI6?  What’s the name of the agency?) Well, my search lead me to this article of the literary character written by Ian Fleming.  Apparently, Mr. Fleming wrote Bond as a Secret Service agent.  I guess I’m going to have to get one of the novels and find out for myself.

Until Then,

Hugs,
Melinda

