Stars on the Wall

I love my husband.  I really do.  He is very supportive and encouraging.  Even when I don’t want him to be.  *sigh*  We were talking about how I thought I should stop posting information about the CIA, how I had written my last post, and how I was going to move forward from here. 

I was bouncing ideas off of him, because I just knew that I was going to start over.  Some of my ideas were 31 Ordinary Days, 31 Names of God, 31 Smartphone Photos, 31 Days of Homeschooling, 31 Recipes I actually use, and so on and so forth.  I’m putting them here, so that I can find them for the challenge next year.  Who knows?  I might even just do one or two before then.

Because the love of my life has convinced me I need to keep going.  That I’m not writing for anyone but myself.  That I don’t have to include ALL the information I find.  That I need to finish.

I hate it when he’s right.

So, here is the next installment in my 31 Days series.  You can find my other posts here, including my “last” post.

The stars are real.

If you watch enough shows or read enough books about the CIA, eventually you will come across mention of the memorial wall.  It’s real.  It’s a part of the legend and lore of the CIA.

As of this moment, there are 111 stars engraved on this wall.  Each represents a fallen CIA officer.  Each represents a name.  A story.  A family.

Underneath the stars is a book.  The Book of Honor, it’s called.  If the star on the wall is attached to a name that can be known, it’s actually listed in The Book.  Otherwise, there is simply a gold star.

 


One thing I learned is that the size of this book has been changed.  In 2004, it went from about 25 inches by 9 inches to almost double that at 20 inches by 30 inches.

The stars on the wall are there as a memorial, a reminder, that the fight against evil and terrorism is real.  That there are people out there who want to see the United States of America fall.  That there are people out there who fight them. 

I have a picture of the memorial service for my uncle.  In it, I can see my aunt, my cousins, my grandparents sitting next to the Director.  On the other side of the picture, I see the flower arrangements, and the stars. 

They are very real.  They are a part of our story. 

Hugs,
Melinda

