FMF: Change

It’s been awhile since I’ve participated in Five Minute Friday.  It’s moved from Lisa Jo’s website to Kate’s.  The rules are still the same, though.  Write for 5 minutes, no editing allowed.  Link up with your post, and visit the person ahead of you to encourage them in their writing.  (And if you’re really nice, two or three people.)  Today’s word is Change. 

GO:


Change.  Life is about to change again.  My daddy is so very sick, and I’m scared of the change that looms before us.

Although, in one respect, it will be okay.  A caterpillar has to change before it becomes a butterfly and flies away.  But a seed has to die before it can grow.  I remember reading that in the Bible before my momma passed away.  It brought me so much joy to know that her earthly “kernel” was going to go away, and that it would be replaced with such beauty as she has ever known.  (I Corinthians 15:35-49)

I guess I can be brave then.  My daddy’s body is going through the same type of change.  His “kernel” is fading, has been fading for a long time now.  It’s been such a blessing to have him as long as we have.  Most transplants don’t make it to the 10 year mark, and he’s lasted to 14.  It’s been amazing.

And I’ve grown up and changed in that time.  Matured, as they might say.  I’m less selfish, less sure of myself, and yet more confident in God.  I believe that when we die, we will be changed in the twinkling of an eye.  (Is that in the Bible too?  I can’t remember.)

So, maybe change isn’t something to be scared of, but rather something that will bring glory to God.

STOP.

Hugs,
Melinda

51 Listen, I tell you a mystery: We will not all sleep, but we will all be changed— 52 in a flash, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will be changed.

 I Corinthians 15:51-52 

