FMF: Close

This post is a part of Five Minute Fridays at Lisa Jo’s blog.  You write for 5 minutes, uninterrupted, no editing.  Then you share your writing, and you visit other peoples’ writings.  Today’s word is Close.

And GO:

The time is close.  She’s drawing nearer and nearer.  We’ve seen the end for so very long, and been thankful that the end has taken so long to get here.  We’re singing to her, for her, to God.  He has held her in his arms for so very long, and held us close as we have walked down this long path of cancer and treatments and medicines and doctors and nurses.  The end is near.

I’m strangely aware of the time, the nearness of the end.  I’m so very aware that I’m losing my first best friend, my closest confident, my mother.  All I want today is one more hug, one more phone call, one more card, one more “I love you.”

God has held us together as a family and kept us close even though the disease has taken her far away from us.

And now, she is closer to God than I have ever been.  To share in that glory, to share with her that unending joy, that is how I keep my Momma close to my heart, how I draw her close to her grandchildren who barely remember her.

Heaven is close to us in these moments, these times.  I know God is with us, drawing us closer to Him.  I give all glory to him for allowing us 2 years longer instead of 2 months.

And STOP.

A bit of background here.  My mother passed away from a Grade IV Glioblastoma on May 21, 2006.  She was originally diagnosed in March of 2004 and was given 2 months.  She lasted 2 years.  I miss her.  Some days it hurts more than others. But I’m thankful for the memories I have.

Hugs,
Melinda

Uncategorized